top of page

Our Blog:

Search
  • Writer's pictureBC SIBC

Miel Spain Project

Miel Education, LLC is interested in learning more about opportunities for international business travel for business students (not limited to international business majors.) SIBC students are asked to compile a comprehensive database of programs offered at U.S. institutions and outside organizations. T


he research should include both institutional requirements for travel with respect to certain degrees, summaries of faculty and non-faculty led programs, and the number and type of institutional credits awarded. Additional useful information would include typical program costs, destinations, and lodging. In support of the SIBC mission, students are invited to plan a business trip to Madrid, Spain that would teach “peace through commerce.”


Hallory Sutherland

I had the opportunity to travel on the Miel Education Project and I had an absolute blast. This experience allowed me to be immersed in both real-life work situations and into a vibrant culture that otherwise I would never have the chance to encounter.

On this trip, I got to know my classmates even more and relay on them. We were a team and trusted each other to know what we had researched and shine in the best ways. On this project we were able to show each of our own strengths and get help with our weaknesses, whether it was public speaking, citations, editing and creating presentations, all of us were able to thrive and present to our clients something that we were proud of.

I can say that SIBC has given me so many opportunities in both business and personal skills that without this program I may never have learned or never had the chance to witness. I hope that one day, this project and or club can enlighten or give purpose to other students that may want real-life experience like what I had done in Spain.


Daniel J Escala


I am extremely grateful for the opportunity to travel to Madrid and work alongside Miel Education. This experience has provided a deeper understanding of business operations abroad. Having conducted marketing research over several months, I was eager to present my findings to the client.

The meeting allowed me to refine my public speaking skills in a professional setting. I am confident I will never forget this experience and the lessons it has taught me. Traveling abroad has bolstered my independence, as I navigated new places and situations. Thank you so much to our generous sponsors for making this travel experience possible.


Joshua N Arendt


This summer I had the opportunity to go to Madrid, Spain with the Miel Education travel team. This was an amazing experience because it taught me the ins and outs of giving a presentation to a client in a practical setting, not simply a formal slideshow presentation as is common in collegiate presentations. In addition, to this, as the assigned team leader of the travel team, I learned a great deal of how to lead and motivate a small team to help use our best talents to work together to achieve a goal. Furthermore, I learned the importance of preparation, repetition, and of a mutual understanding of not only my work, but the work of those beside me.


Claire Donahoe


This project has been very beneficial for me and has given me the opportunity to grow in leadership and organization skills. Because this was a large team, it provided me an opportunity to split up the team into pairs, which allowed me to delegate tasks to the different groups. Given that this is the last semester for this project, we have been able to pull all the different pieces together and finally form a comprehensive report that will be useful to our client. This project gave me a broad view of the study abroad industry in the country, and what barriers there are for students who want to study abroad. I am grateful to our SIBC benefactors for making these learning opportunities possible.



Evelyn Wooldrik


Hello! I am Evelyn Wooldrik, a sophomore at Benedictine College. I am double majoring in Marketing and Management. This is my second semester in the Student International Business Council. I have appreciated my time in this council and have been able to grow in my experience and education in the business world. I am involved in the National Parks Analysis Project and the Miel Spain Project.


I have greatly enjoyed working on the Spain Miel project with my team! Miel Education, LLC is interested in learning more about opportunities for international business travel for business students. As a team we have been researching institutional requirements for travel with respect to certain degrees, summaries of faculty and non-faculty led programs, and the number and type of institutional credits awarded. I have learned much from this project and additionally have increased my interviewing and researching skills. Overall, I have greatly benefited from the student international business council.


Dominic Kaehler


My team and I worked on collecting comprehensive data of programs offered at U.S. institutions. The research I worked on included collecting data on a sample size of a few schools from each state in the country and analyzing how many students at these universities travel abroad over several years. I then simplified that data by making pivot tables and graphs to help streamline the data so that our clients could visually see data in a simplified way.


I learned how to analyze data, collect it, and then simplify it for a broad audience of people. I gained insight into how to work effectively with a team. I gained real-world experience in active problem-solving with varying levels of complexity.


I was privileged to learn how to work with a large team. I became more confident in working with Excel. I also really enjoyed working on a piece of a larger project and seeing it all come together in the end. Working within a larger team has taught me how to understand people from different backgrounds and perspectives.


SIBC has helped me develop myself more than I could have ever imagined. Some of the skills I have gained from SIBC are, developing lasting Friendships and gaining better business experience. I also now have a better understanding and delegate information within a larger team; and how my small actions help to produce something beyond myself. I want to thank The benefactors and leaders that have made SIBC possible.



Ashlyn Hayes


This will be my second semester on the Miel Spain project. I have learned so many skills working in a large group and improved my ability with research. The topics I explored included finding and comparing data for the Jesuit colleges around America. This included the types of majors the schools provided, focusing heavily on the international business major. I compared the types and lengths of the Jesuit schools' study abroad programs and took into account cost and what credits were earned on the trips. Working in an International group taught me a lot about collaboration and cultural differences. I learned that effective communication is key, especially with working with people of different backgrounds and time zones. It's important to be patient and understanding, as different expectations vary greatly. I also learned the value of diversity in a group project, as it brings a wide range of ideas and perspectives to the table. Overall, this project has given me many skills that I can take with me in all my endeavors.


Cecelia Belderok

My name is Cecelia Belderok, and I am a junior Physics & Astronomy major. This is my fourth semester in SIBC, and my first semester working on the Miel Spain Project. This is the first project I’ve worked on that had an international element, although my research mostly focused on colleges and business programs within the United States. SIBC has given me a better understanding of the business world and invaluable business experience that I can take with me beyond graduation.




Commentaires


bottom of page