top of page

Our Blog:

Search
  • Writer's pictureBC SIBC

Belize Project

The JPII Junior College in Benque has been growing their programs and working on a variety of business and marketing classes. SIBC students will collaborate with the students at the Junior College to teach financial literacy to high school students. The SIBC students will also have the opportunity to join the Benedictine College Mission Trip to Belize on a variety of their mission opportunities.


Nathan Hall


This was the first major project I have lead in SIBC. I learned alot during this year long project. I learned more about communications and how to coordinate a trip to another country. In researching the topics of financial literacy learned how to translate the information to make it teachable to different age ranges. Being in SIBC has taught me how to lead a group and work colabroativly.


John Paul Rossini


The thought of teaching has always come up as something that should be more focussed around the areas of learning as opposed to retentional application, and that is what we were able to give to those in Belize. The innovative processes we used really put emphasis on our care for the program and our devotion to the activities of learning and proceeding in the building of one’s own career. I have learned how to relate to other cultures and empathize with those that travel to give speeches to audiences in far off places.


Jacob Finch


As a Finance major and someone who is interested in working internationally, I wanted to gain experience on what it is like to work in a project that is collaborative and focused on teamwork while helping others, especially those who are in areas that are not fully developed. Working on the Belize project has not only realized how lucky we are to live in the U.S. but also how we can leave a positive effect on the kids lives that we have influenced. Doing research on smart spending not only helped the kids in Belize but also in my life where I can focus on doing my own smart spending. This project has helped me become a better person and I appreciate everyone who helped work on this project alongside me.


Itxel Martin-Huesca

As someone going into the military it is very beneficial for me to learn more about international businesses and gain experience on how to better interact with different cultures. I love traveling as well and this project gave me the chance to learn more about budgeting and saving and the importance of those. I learned how to better team work skills. I also got to create a plan for teaching which gave ma a new appreciation for all the work that teachers ut into planning the classes they have to teach. Overall, I appreciated the time I spent working song side my group and learning new skills.


Nardos Smart

I loved learning and teaching something vital to the business world. It has helped me keep better track of all financial transactions. As a marketing student, I learned what it takes to make a trip happen, you don't realize how many people with different jobs are all working together to make a trip successful. It was fascinating to be a part of something larger. My experience there was truly powerful, I have learned so much from the people of Belize. They are truly the most generous and kind people. From their poverty they still gave, which is a message to the world. Experiencing this with my group was something powerful and not easily forgotten. I can't wait to continue growing and learning. I am truly grateful for all the people who I have had the privilege of working with during this years projects.



Nathan Meiers

The Belize trip was one of the most significant trips in my life. I experienced a cultural shock when I visited Belize and saw how different everything is there from standard of living to schooling to local customs. Since I am a political science major, comparing these differences to those of the United States was interesting and helped me understand Belize and Central America. I also learned a lot about teaching and financial literacy myself. I don't have any plans to become a teacher but having the experience from teaching during this trip made me respect the profession more and the people who are teachers. I also gained more experience in financial literacy and how it works.


Gabriela Cryan

Belize for me was of course the clique, 'Life Changing', but more than that it was a blessing in disguise. I learned so much about myself that I did not think I needed to learn. I learned to be patient, persistent, and humble. I would 100% love to go back and deepen the relationships I only just began to make. I am so thankful to SIBC for giving me the opportunity to step outside my comfort zone.



Comments


bottom of page