top of page

Our Blog:

Search
  • Writer's pictureBC SIBC

Acadia National Park



During my trip to Acadia National Park in Maine, my team and I spoke to several local businesses, and a national park ranger about the effects of Covid on their businesses. We also explored the park and town, which gave us a new perspective on the narratives that we were given by the park ranger and businesses. As a Political Science major, I am often taught that legislation is the best way to meet the needs of people. However, this new experience taught me that speaking directly to the needs of small businesses is just as important as the legislation by which the businesses operate. SIBC has taught me about the importance of communicating with people to solve problems that arise from national events such as Covid. - Maggie Hodge


Hello! I am Evelyn Wooldrik, a freshman at Benedictine College. I am double majoring in Marketing and Management. This is my first semester in the Student International Business Council. I have enjoyed my time in this council and have been able to grow in my experience and education in the business world. I am involved in the National Parks Analysis Project and the Monks of Norcia Brewery Marketing Project. I recently traveled with my National Park Analysis team to Acadia National Park in Maine to further research the effects of COVID on National Parks and the surrounding businesses throughout America. It is safe to say that I learned ample knowledge and business experience from this trip. I learned that the set back of COVID took a toll on the businesses, but primarily affected employment both in the park and in local shops. It was amazing being able to interview and hear directly from business owners and park rangers about the situation. I loved hearing how passionate they were about their businesses. This was something that I did not get to experience when looking at statistics online. This trip increased my communication skills and helped me develop a sense of understanding in how businesses operate. Overall, I have greatly benefited from SIBC and the opportunity that allowed me to go on this beautiful and impactful trip! -Evelyn Wooldrik


Back in October, I was on a SIBC trip in Washington DC. During this time, I talked to Professor Rogers about how I would like to do a project that dealt with National Parks, and together we made it a reality. I loved working on this project because it dealt with something that I was genuinely interested in and curious to learn more about. This drove my motivation to do work on this project. I also loved working with this great group of girls, and being able to travel and further my knowledge on the subject on the SIBC trip to Maine with them. I have truly benefitted so greatly from this project - bettering my skills in communication, team building, and problem solving. Thank you SIBC! -Lauren Rabal


留言


bottom of page